Chronic pain and fumbling for a diagnosis

The Leading Edge of Chaos

   I have migraines (since 1974), back pain (since 1980), crushed vertebrae (since about 2005), and a myriad of other less serious, but still frustrating, symptoms.  My current Dr, bless his little black heart, keeps treating these chronic conditions as injuries.

   He’ll give me 30 day prescriptions and be surprised when the condition returns when I stop taking the pills.  He says pain is subjective, and everyone gets back pain.  I have tried to explain the difference between my constant, never ending back pain and the flares of other pain, or unusually high pain. But he doesn’t seem to get it, as he tells me to make another appointment to discuss my pain, he doesn’t have time.  Sure, no problem.  I haven’t slept in 2 years, can’t walk a city block without crying, can’t make supper without 1/2 dozen breaks to rest, fall over at random intervals when my…

View original post 744 more words

Leave a Reply

